My Apple Music ‘REPLAY 2018'

This post goes over my ‘top’ songs of 2018 on Apple Music

Stanley Wongus
8 min readNov 25, 2020

So, for more context about my journey on Apple Music, I wrote a short post on it yesterday. But this post will just go over 2018, which I basically used Apple Music for about 3 months in total. A few songs were externally downloaded, but for the most part, all of the songs were streamed! Also all these ‘Replay’ playlists can be accessed on both the phone and desktop interface.

The Card UI on Apple Music

Card Impressions

So just looking at the UI card without opening the playlist yet, it is not really too surprising. I listened to Lana Del Rey a lot in 2018 since I listened to her 2018 ‘Lust for Life’ album a lot since I saw it while adding all her other older albums as I tried to sync up my Spotify/Google Play Music tracks to Apple Music. I guess I took a break from her songs for a bit, but after adding this album, I listened to it a lot. Jay Z and Kanye West would probably also be on the top for Spotify and such. I listened to a lot of Kanye West in 2018, pretty much going through his entire discography when studying for exams. Jay Z was because it was not on Spotify, so I was able to listen to it a bunch when I got Apple Music. Lil Wayne was for his latest album at the time, TC5. It was ok overall. Metro Boomin was also from his latest album which was very very good. Bradley Cooper was from ‘A Star Is Born’ soundtrack probably. It was a very good movie and I liked the song. I had ‘Shallow’ as my alarm ringtone for over a year! And I only hit snooze on it a few times (can count with one hand), so obviously that’s a really good song. Calvin Harris was probably for some nice songs he released that year as well.

The Actual Replay Playlist

So since last section was just so long talking about so little, I will try to breeze through the songs, no need to go through the entire history of it. Each paragraph would be like a group of 10 songs. I guess the ones on top means the ‘more popular’ with me ones first.

1–10 of the playlist

So looking at my ‘top 10’ (not sure what metric they used). Number 1 and 8 were explained above; very good song to listen to in many situations. Run This Town was a nice classic that will never get old for me. Champions was also really hype (refer to the linked post on top for more info). Mona Lisa was a very good song as well, that was very hype, especially the Kendrick verse. 10 Freaky Girls was a nice song too, hype as well with a good rhythm. Devil in a new dress is one of my favorite Kanye songs, it is very very very good! Exceptional Rick Ross feature! Shallow was explained above; just a A+++ song. I liked the features and beat of Rollin. And Famous was a nice upbeat hype song as well. I guess the most hype songs are the ones that I listen to a lot because of workouts and running, and gets me in the groove to study.

11–20 in playlist

Reborn was a very good song in KSG. King’s Dead was very hype as well. The Kendrick verse on Radioactive is really good. I liked the words and verses of Lost in the World. Empire State of Mind is a nice classic. Amazing was nice and hype in 2k13 playlist. Mercy was a very good song as well. Runaway is one of my favs of all time, Pusha T went insane on this song and I really liked it, the length is also very nice. Calvin Harris (refer above) is nice. Bank Account is another song for running I guess cause nice beat.

21–30 in playlist

goosebumps is a very very good hype song as well for exercise. The Lana Del Rey ones were explained above. Venom was an alright movie, but the song was cool. Sicko Mode was like a really good song nice hype and beat and all. The 808s songs were really cool and enjoyable. Diamonds from Sierra Leone had a really good beat rhythm and all. The Creed II song was nice and hype.

Overall the trend is showing that the songs I listen to either sound really good to me, or are good and super hype for exercising.

41–50 of playlist

So the Meek Mill stuff was there cause that’s his first album since he was in prison, it was ok. Taylor Swift was surprisingly low, but I guess I did not listen to too much since Reputation, but still really really nice. Chainsmokers was nice. Jesus Walks was another nice hype classic. Pray For Me was really really good from Black Panther earlier in the year, nice Kendrick verse. Take Care was a classic nice beat and all. Star is Born song explained above, a great movie and vocals. Metro Boomin and Lana Del Rey stuff also mentioned above.

51–60 in playlist

Stronger was another nice hype Kanye song for exercising. KOD was a nice 2018 release for J Cole, good beat and words and all. Lana Del Rey explained above. La La Land songs were also very very nice to listen to overall, I enjoyed most songs in the album, very nice and nice. Forever was another nice collab classic that was hype. The Intro was nice and hype. Only listened to that one XXX song, and it sounded nice, had a nice rhythm. The 2 Chainz one was a very very hype and nice Fast and Furious 6 album song that was nice.

61–70 in playlist

The Logic song was very very good, especially with the lyrics and message. The production was nice as well. Metro Boomin and Lana Del Rey explained above. The Migos one was a very nice and hype song. The Kanye ones were also very nice and hype ones. The KSG one was cool, probably since I listened to a bunch of Kanye stuff over this time. Kesha one was a nice throwback classic that I enjoyed a bit towards the end of the year. All the Stars was really good as well with the vocals as well as the rapping part. Very very nice and positive. Maad City was super hype song too, classic as well.

71–80 in playlist

Starboy was a nice classic from 2016, really really good song. Nice overall song. Rihanna was nice and hype as well. The New York song was a classic just to chill to I think. Kanye MBDTF nice, and also mentioned above. Ice Cube classic is a nice classic to listen to at the end of a good day. Lana Del Rey explained above. Kanye Graduation classic nice. Money Trees also super nice classic, Jay Rock nice lyrics as well. The J Cole one also super nice good lyrics. RIP Mac Miller in 2018, so I think I listened to his stuff a bit more then too.

81–90 in playlist

Senior Skip Day was a very very good Mac Miller classic, nice chill stuff. God’s Plan was nice hype 2018 song. The Taylor Swift ones were nice Taylor Swift songs. Lucid Dreams was a cool song as well, very nice overall. Dream and Nightmares was very hype and nice. Lana Del Rey explained above. Take On Me was a nice classic that I listened to a lot after Deadpool 2; very cool and nice for exercising song. Can I Kick It probably randomly added one day and played it a lot when shuffling. Skyfall very good song with nice vocals and all.

91–100 in playlist

TLOP songs very very nice and good, hype and nice uplifting stuff (kind of). Lana Del Rey explained above. Dark Horse was a classic and nice Katy Perry stuff. Dr Strange soundtrack was nice rhythm and mystical stuff that I liked. Get Lucky is a nice classic song, overall super nice production and all. Taylor Swift usual nice. Alright is nice and hype. Weeknd nice melody song as well. I guess Jay Z classic song as well that I listened to a bit. Not even sure how much I listened to those songs (maybe just when shuffling through). Guess we are at the non memorable parts.

101–110 in playlist

I guess this is the remainder, the last section. Strange that under Apple it says 100 songs for 7 hours and 6 minutes. Well, whatever.

Eminem was from his latest album which was meh, but a few good songs here and there. Nice guardians of galaxy song upbeat. I really enjoyed the chainsmokers and coldplay collaboration and that was a very good song. Kanye explained above. Thunder was a nice upbeat song. Feel So Close was a nice classic as well, nice hype and energy. i was a very nice Kendrick Lamar upbeat and positive song for me as well. Taylor Swift was nice. And Metro Boomin explained above.

Conclusion

Although I am not sure what Apple Music used to judge this playlist, I assume it is just the songs I have listened to the most on it. I am not sure whether it factors in both mobile and desktop. But whatever.

The top songs were no surprise, Lana Del Rey, Jay-Z and Kanye West, all of them are on the top of my favorite music artists list, with very very nice songs. The reason why the first two mentioned in the previous sentence were there was because I added a lot of (new) songs from them during the Apple Music period of 3 months. So newer music was nice (even though Jay Z wasn’t new, I did not listen to it much on Spotify). Kanye West I just listened to a lot at the end of 2018 (though I always listen to Kanye), thanks to his new releases, and the nice classic throwback songs that were hype.

A surprise not there was Taylor Swift. Even though she was probably my favorite music artist, I assume due to my selection of my working out and exercising playlist (always had the phone on me), I did not think her songs were hype enough for it? Not sure why. But this 2018 playlist is still cool!

--

--